The existing 1954 building required expanded facilities and an overhaul of its engineering systems. A simple and sensitive addition incorporated a new tot’s pool and an interior atrium which resolved the public circulation and introduced a wealth of natural light. The addition to the west of the old building forms an elegant public face with inviting new entrance towers. These entry points connect the building to the park on one side and the residential street on the other. The addition itself was constructed using a concrete column & wood beam system which integrates well into the flavour of the original building. A two-storey atrium presents a new public face to Crawford Street, incorporates an indoor garden maintained by local residents and enables natural light to penetrate deep into the facility. Throughout, interior renovations enhance the building’s nascent relationship with the park by introducing strategic moments of transparency - visitors can both look into and walk from the street through the building to the park beyond, and vice versa.