The iconic downtown structure opened in 1937 as the J.W. Knapp department store and had been vacant for more than ten years prior to the urban renewal effort led by QEA for the Eyde Company. This innovative adaptive reuse created first-floor restaurant/retail space, three floors of Class A offices, and 23 top-floor loft residences with outdoor patios. A skylit atrium brightens the interior while raised floors improved the view and allowed for under-floor installation of HVAC system and network cables creating office space that provide state of the art infrastructure making the building more competitive. The building’s Streamline Moderne façade was clad in “Maul Macotta” (enameled steel panels cast onto the face of concrete blocks that were hung from a steel substructure and glass block). These new technologies of the 1930s failed over time. Careful detailing replicates the original character of the façade with a rainscreen system and new glass block windows returning the building to its original glory with an energy efficient, state-of-the-art building skin. The creative updates modernized the crumbling exterior while meeting preservation requirements that ensured state and federal tax credits. One of Michigan’s most renowned examples of the Art Moderne architectural era, Knapp’s Centre’s sleek, elegant structure is among the most recognizable landmarks in Lansing.