Brooklyn’s 1838 Green-Wood Cemetery, a National Historic Landmark, was the precursor of New York’s Central Park and is one of America’s most picturesque landscapes. This project is an addition to an existing 1950s crematorium located near the Cemetery’s main entry and adjacent to Richard Upjohn’s 1860 triple-portal gate.
The program for the addition included a second chapel, expansion of the Cemetery’s mausoleum and columbarium capacity, replacement of all cremation equipment, and new systems that include a thermal mass storage to flatten the electrical demand curve.
The new façade extends over the original entry to give the building a unified presence. Its low massing, strong horizontals, and shifting planes engage the surrounding Arcadian landscape, while the new design respects the original building’s modernist vocabulary of limestone and white marble trim. The materials and details of the new façade relate the expanded structure to adjacent contemporary structures, while the brown granite rainscreen connects it to the Belleville brownstone of Upjohn’s exuberant entrance.