PRESS RELEASE: A+Awards for Architecture Launches 10th Anniversary Edition

The 10th Anniversary program introduces a significantly expanded pool of categories, special winners’ programing, and a new powerful mission.

Architizer Editors Architizer Editors

NEW YORK, United States, 2021-10-07: Architizer, the world’s largest online platform for architecture, announces the official opening of the 10th Annual Architizer A+Awards, celebrating a decade of inspirational design.

The Architizer A+Awards is the world’s largest and most democratic architectural awards program, and honors the year’s best buildings and spaces from around the globe. The 10th Anniversary program introduces a significantly expanded pool of categories, special winners’ programing, and a powerful mission: to spotlight the extraordinary work of designers who are shaping the architecture of the next decade and beyond.

Enter the 10th Annual A+Awards

The 10th edition provides a unique opportunity to look back at the extraordinary legacy of the A+Awards, revisiting some of the most important architecture from the past ten years, and highlighting the challenges facing architecture in the years to come.

“These awards are an opportunity to share meaningful, change-making innovations, so we can continue to make even better projects for our planet & our community.” – Michael Green, Founder and Principal, MGA | Michael Green Architecture

The 10th A+Awards maintains its commitment to the democratic judging process, highlighting design’s impact on people’s everyday lives with an online vote by the public for each category. In collaboration with its official partners, The Monacelli Pressv2com newswireAIA New York, and the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada, the 9th Annual A+Awards received over 400,000 public votes on 5,000+ entries from over 100 countries worldwide.

“The A+Awards is amazing, because it creates a great dialogue about where architecture is heading.” – Michel Rojkind, Founder, Rojkind Arquitectos

New this year are Firm Awards, which celebrate studios’ complete body of work across different firm sizes, specializations, and geographies. This season also sees the addition of categories honoring small-scale and renovation projects, community-focused projects, experimental design, and those buildings and spaces that spark joy in an uncertain time. View the full list of 119 categories here.

The 10th A+Awards are judged by Architizer’s 250+ jury academy, featuring prestigious members of the architecture and design community, as well as luminaries from the art, technology, fashion, media, business, and real estate industries. Previous notable jurors include:

  • Lesley Lokko (African Futures Institute)
  • Alison Brooks (Alison Brooks Architects )
  • Tom Kundig (Olson | Kundig)
  • Pascale Sablan (Beyond the Built Environment)
  • Tao Liu + Chenyan Cai (Atelier Tao+c)
  • Jeanne Gang (Studio Gang)

“These are valuable moments for the design community to come together…to gather inspiration, for up-and-coming practices to get recognized, and for furthering the conversation on major national issues.” – Lisa Finlay, Partner, Heatherwick Studio

The 10th Annual A+Awards also sees the return of Architizer: The World’s Best Architecture, an annual compendium of the world’s best spaces, published by The Monacelli Press. The book, which has featured winners like Tadao AndoAdjaye AssociatesHeatherwick Studio, and Diana Kellogg Architects, is the year’s definitive architectural guide.

Key Dates

Launch: October 4, 2021

Early Entry Deadline: October 29, 2021

Main Entry Deadline: December 17, 2021

Final Entry Deadline: January 28, 2022

Extended Entry Deadline: March 4, 2022

Jury Voting: April 2022

Public Voting: May 2022

Winners Announced: June 2022

About Architizer

Architizer’s core mission is to empower architects. Through its inspiring content, building-product marketplace, awards program, and vast online reach, Architizer connects architects with the tools they need to build better buildings, better cities, and a better world.

Enter the 10th Annual A+Awards

5 Tips for Embedding Sustainability into Design Practice

JLG Architects' Principal Sustainability Officer offers key ways in which architecture firms can int egrate sustainable design into every aspect of daily practice.

© Arch-Age-Design(AAD)

Yinchuan Sunac City Exhibition Center // Arch-Age-Design(AAD)

Yinchuan, China